Nationality and Borders Bill — Commons Amendments — Motion H1 (as an amendment to Motion H) — 4 Apr 2022 at 20:45

Moved by Lord Dubs

10B: Insert the following new Clause-“Immigration Rules: entry to seek asylum and join family(1) The rules laid down by the Secretary of State in accordance with section 1(4) and section 3(2) of the Immigration Act 1971 for regulating the entry into and stay in the United Kingdom of persons not having the right of abode must include provision for admitting persons coming for the purpose of seeking asylum.(2) These rules must make provision, for the purpose of seeking asylum, for unaccompanied children in Europe who have a family member in the United Kingdom who is ordinarily and lawfully resident in the United Kingdom.(3) For the purposes of this section, a “family member” means-(a) a parent, including adoptive parent;(b) an aunt or uncle;(c) a grandparent;(d) a sibling, including an adoptive sibling; or(e) such other persons as the Secretary of State may determine, havingregard to-(i) the importance of maintaining family unity;(ii) any dependency between the family members;(iii) the best interests of a child; and (iv) any compelling circumstances.””

Ayes 181, Noes 144.

Debate in Parliament |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Bishop2 08.3%
Con1 13651.3%
Crossbench27 115.6%
DUP2 040.0%
Green2 0100.0%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Judge2 018.2%
Lab80 045.5%
LDem54 165.5%
Non-affiliated9 524.6%
PC1 0100.0%
UUP0 150.0%
Total:181 14440.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Baroness Warsi Conaye
Lord Mawson Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Jones of CheltenhamLDemno
Lord Faulks Non-affiliated (front bench)no
Lord Gadhia Non-affiliatedno
Baroness Hoey Non-affiliatedno
Baroness Stowell of BeestonNon-affiliated (front bench)no
Lord Tyrie Non-affiliated (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive