Elections Bill — Report (1st Day) (Continued) — Amendment 42 — 6 Apr 2022 at 21:15

Moved by Lord Dubs

42: After Clause 14, insert the following new Clause-“Members of the House of Lords: voting at elections to the House of Commons (1) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a member of the House of Lords is not disqualified by virtue of that position from voting at elections to the House of Commons.(2) This section comes into force 24 months after the day on which this Act is passed.(3) This section extends to England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland.”

Ayes 24, Noes 139.

Debate in Parliament |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Con126 147.4%
Crossbench5 34.5%
DUP2 160.0%
Lab0 148.0%
LDem1 34.8%
Non-affiliated4 210.5%
UUP1 050.0%
Total:139 2421.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Naseby Con (front bench)aye
Lord Alton of LiverpoolCrossbench (front bench)aye
Baroness D'Souza Crossbench (front bench)aye
Baroness O'Loan Crossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Dodds of DuncairnDUP (front bench)aye
Lord Teverson LDem (front bench)no
Lord Mann Non-affiliatedaye
Lord Smith of FinsburyNon-affiliatedaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive