Nationality and Borders Bill — After Clause 15 — Safe Third State: Commencement — 20 Apr 2022 at 17:48

The majority of MPs voted not to require the United Kingdom to have at least one formal safe-return agreement with another state before empowering ministers to rule an asylum claim made by a person who has a connection to a safe third State inadmissible.

MPs were considering the Nationality and Borders Bill.[1][2][3]

The motion supported by the majority of MPs in this vote was:

  • That this House disagrees with Lords amendment 8B.

Lords amendment 8B stated:[4]

  • After Clause 15, insert the following new Clause—
  • Safe third State: commencement
  • (1) The Secretary of State may exercise the power in section 83(1) so as to bring section 15 into force only if the condition in subsection (2) has been met.
  • (2) The condition in this subsection is that the United Kingdom has agreed formal returns agreements with one or more third States.
  • (3) A “formal returns agreement” means an agreement which provides for the safe return of a person making an asylum claim (a “claimant”) to a State which is party to the agreement, where the claimant has a connection to that State.
  • (4) This section, and the condition it imposes, cease to have effect at the end of the period of five years beginning with the day on which this section comes into force.”

Section 15 of the Bill provided that The Secretary of State may declare an asylum claim made by a person (a “claimant”) who has a connection to a safe third State inadmissible.[2]


Debate in Parliament |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Alba0 1050.0%
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con300 (+2 tell) 5084.8%
DUP0 3037.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent1 40100.0%
Lab0 164082.0%
LDem0 12092.3%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 20100.0%
SNP0 40 (+2 tell)093.3%
Total:301 236084.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

David DavisHaltemprice and HowdenConno
Simon HoareNorth DorsetCon (front bench)no
Andrew MitchellSutton ColdfieldConno
Bob NeillBromley and ChislehurstCon (front bench)no
William WraggHazel GroveCon (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive