Nationality and Borders Bill — Schedule 3 — Removal of Asylum Seeker to Safe Country — 20 Apr 2022 at 17:48

The majority of MPs voted to enable someone to be removed from, or required to leave, the United Kingdom while their asylum application is pending.

MPs were considering the Nationality and Borders Bill.[1][2][3]

The motion supported by the majority of MPs in this vote was:

  • That this House disagrees with Lords amendment 53B.

Lords amendment 53B stated:[4]

  • Page 88, line 14, leave out “falling within subsection (2B)” and insert “prescribed by an order under subsection (2B)”

Had it not been rejected this amendment would have impacted Schedule 3 of the Bill[2] titled: Removal of asylum seeker to safe country. The provision which would have been impacted stated:

  • (2A) This section does not prevent a person being removed to, or being

required to leave to go to, a State falling within subsection (2B).

Amendment 53B would have worked with amendment 53C to empower ministers to produce a list of states considered safe to which individuals could be removed pending consideration of their asylum claim, rather than permitting such removals to states coming under the definition of a safe country in the Bill.

Taken alone, support for amendment 53B, would leave the Bill ineffectual so leaving the position as set out in Section 77 of the Nationality, Immigration and Asylum Act 2002 as at 31 December 2020 which was that someone may not be removed from, or required to leave, the United Kingdom while their asylum application is pending.


Debate in Parliament |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Alba0 1050.0%
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con300 (+2 tell) 5084.8%
DUP2 0025.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent1 40100.0%
Lab0 163 (+2 tell)082.5%
LDem0 12092.3%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 20100.0%
SNP0 42093.3%
Total:303 234084.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

David DavisHaltemprice and HowdenConno
Simon HoareNorth DorsetCon (front bench)no
Andrew MitchellSutton ColdfieldConno
Bob NeillBromley and ChislehurstCon (front bench)no
William WraggHazel GroveCon (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive