Privilege — 29 Nov 2022 at 14:24

That the matter of the actions and subsequent conduct of the hon Member for Ochil and South Perthshire in relation to correspondence from the Speaker on a matter of privilege be referred to the Committee of Privileges.
“I have neither eyes to see, nor tongue to speak in this place, but as the House is pleased to direct me,”
“reflections on the character of the Speaker or accusations of partiality in the discharge of their duties”
“we may have sought a referral to the Privileges Committee but, as her claims have not inhibited the work of the Committee and she no longer has a position of power over the future of Channel 4, we are, instead, publishing this Report to enable the House, and its Members, to draw their own conclusions.”
“respect the Committee’s assessment of the situation.”-[Official Report, 23 November 2022; Vol. 723, c. 291.]
“He’s considered my letter, but he’s decided to take no further action.”
“offered no apology as there was no misrepresentation.”
“didn’t ‘release’ the Speaker’s letter. I summarised it entirely fairly.”
“integrity above that of parliament”.
“I am going to leave it there for today”.-[Official Report, 23 November 2022; Vol. 723, c. 292.]
“It is not the practice for such letters to be made public… Members should not challenge the Speaker’s decision in the House.”

Debate in Parliament |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Alliance1 00100.0%
Con248 (+2 tell) 0069.4%
DUP7 0087.5%
Lab102 0051.3%
LDem10 0071.4%
SNP0 16 (+2 tell)040.0%
Total:368 16061.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive