Higher Education (Freedom of Speech) Bill — Report — Amendment 22 — 7 Dec 2022 at 18:45

Moved by Lord Willetts

22: Clause 4, leave out Clause 4

Ayes 213, Noes 172.

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Con3 155 (+2 tell)57.6%
Crossbench39 826.3%
DUP0 466.7%
Green1 050.0%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Judge2 018.2%
Lab102 (+2 tell) 057.5%
LDem60 072.3%
Non-affiliated7 623.2%
PC1 0100.0%
Total:216 17349.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by name

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Baroness Altmann Conaye
Lord Alton of LiverpoolCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Carrington Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Fowler Non-affiliatedno
Baroness Fox of BuckleyNon-affiliatedno
Lord Greenway Crossbenchno
Baroness Hoey Non-affiliatedno
Lord Kakkar Crossbenchno
Lord Laming Crossbenchno
Lord Moore of EtchinghamNon-affiliatedno
Baroness O'Loan Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Patel Crossbenchno
Lord Patten of BarnesConaye
Baroness Stowell of BeestonNon-affiliated (front bench)no
Lord Trevethin and Oaksey Crossbenchno
Lord Walney Non-affiliatedno
Lord Willetts Conaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive