Retained EU Law (Revocation and Reform) Bill — Report (2nd Day) — Amendment 76 — 17 May 2023 at 18:00

Moved by Lord Hope of Craighead

76: Schedule 4, page 49, line 10, at end insert-“8A “(1) A Minister of the Crown may not make a statutory instrument containing regulations under sections 13, 14 and 16 unless- (a) a document containing a proposal for those regulations has been laid before each House of Parliament,(b) the document has been referred to a Joint Committee of both Houses, and(c) a period of at least 40 days has elapsed after that referral, not including any period during which Parliament is dissolved or prorogued or either House is adjourned for more than four days.(2) If the Joint Committee, after considering any regulations laid under this paragraph, finds that-(a) the regulations represent a substantial change to the preceding retained EU law, or(b) the Government have not carried out sufficient public consultation lasting at least six weeks before laying the draft before Parliament,a Minister of the Crown must arrange for the instrument to be debated on the floor of each House and voted on before the period in sub-paragraph (1)(c) elapses.(3) If any amendments to the regulations, whether or not proposed by the Joint Committee, are agreed by both Houses of Parliament the regulations must be made in the form so amended.(4) If one House agrees amendments to the regulations under sub-paragraph (3) the Minister may not make the relevant statutory instrument until the other House has debated and voted on a motion to agree or disagree with those amendments.”Member's explanatory statement This amendment provides for instruments made under clauses 13, 14 and 16 to be referred to a Joint Committee of both Houses for sifting so that, in the case of those which represent a significant change from the preceding retained EU law, Parliament will be enabled to differ from the Executive and express its own view as to their contents.

Ayes 231, Noes 167.

Debate in Parliament |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Con15 155 (+2 tell)62.3%
Crossbench38 (+1 tell) 323.7%
Green2 0100.0%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Judge0 (+1 tell) 09.1%
Lab99 055.0%
LDem65 078.3%
Non-affiliated8 726.8%
PC1 0100.0%
Total:229 16550.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Baroness Altmann Conaye
Lord Arbuthnot of EdromCon (front bench)aye
Lord Clarke of NottinghamConaye
Lord Deben Conaye
Lord Goodlad Con (front bench)aye
Viscount Hailsham Conaye
Lord Hamilton of EpsomCon (front bench)aye
Lord Hodgson of Astley AbbottsConaye
Lord Kirkhope of HarrogateCon (front bench)aye
Lord Livingston of ParkheadConaye
Baroness McIntosh of PickeringCon (front bench)aye
Lord McLoughlin Con (front bench)aye
Lord Northbrook Conaye
Lord Norton of LouthConaye
Baroness Shackleton of BelgraviaCon (front bench)aye
Lord Bew Crossbenchno
Lord Hogan-Howe Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Mawson Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Faulks Non-affiliatedno
Lord Fowler Non-affiliatedno
Baroness Fox of BuckleyNon-affiliatedno
Lord Gadhia Non-affiliatedno
Baroness Hoey Non-affiliatedno
Lord Pearson of RannochNon-affiliatedno
Lord Verdirame Non-affiliatedno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive