Illegal Migration Bill — Report (3rd Day) — Amendment 164 — 5 Jul 2023 at 18:00

Moved by Baroness Stroud

164: After Clause 59, insert the following new Clause- “Duty to establish safe and legal routes(1) The Secretary of State must, within two months of the publication of the report required by section 60(1), make regulations specifying additional safe and legal routes.(2) In subsection (1), a “safe and legal route” means a route which allows relevant persons to come to the United Kingdom lawfully from abroad.(3) In subsection (2), a “relevant person” is-(a) a person who, if they were in the United Kingdom, would be a refugee within the meaning of the Convention relating to the Status of Refugees done at Geneva on 28th July 1951 and the Protocol to that Convention,(b) a person who, if they were in the United Kingdom, would be eligible for a grant of humanitarian protection in accordance with the immigration rules, or(c) a person who, if they were in the United Kingdom, could not lawfully be removed from the United Kingdom by virtue of Article 3 or 4 of the Human Rights Convention.”

Ayes 232, Noes 169.

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Bishop5 020.0%
Con7 155 (+2 tell)59.0%
Crossbench34 522.4%
DUP0 350.0%
Green1 050.0%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Judge2 020.0%
Lab105 (+2 tell) 060.1%
LDem63 075.0%
Non-affiliated11 426.3%
PC1 0100.0%
Total:230 16749.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Bethell Conaye
Baroness Helic Conaye
Lord Kirkhope of HarrogateConaye
Lord Shinkwin Conaye
Baroness Stroud Conaye
Lord Waldegrave of North HillConaye
Lord Wolfson of Aspley GuiseConaye
Lord Bew Crossbenchno
Viscount Craigavon Crossbenchno
Lord Green of DeddingtonCrossbenchno
Lord Greenway Crossbenchno
Viscount Waverley Crossbenchno
Baroness Foster of AghadrumseeNon-affiliatedno
Baroness Hoey Non-affiliatedno
Baroness Stowell of BeestonNon-affiliated (front bench)no
Lord Taylor of WarwickNon-affiliatedno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive