Online Safety Bill — Report (3rd Day) — Amendment 180 — 12 Jul 2023 at 19:00

Moved by Baroness Merron

180: After Clause 56, insert the following new Clause-“Review: offences relating to animal torture content(1) Within the period of six months beginning with the day on which this Act is passed, the Secretary of State must carry out a review of relevant offences under the-(a) Communications Act 2003, and(b) Animal Welfare Act 2006,to determine whether there is an offence of sending a communication to encourage or assist an act of animal torture, or sharing content related to animal torture, on a regulated service.(2) If the review under subsection (1) determines that one or more offences contained within the Acts does extend to such communications or content, the Secretary of State must, as soon as practicable, make regulations to designate the offence or offences under Schedule 7 to this Act (see section 198(3)).”Member’s explanatory statementFollowing answers to a recent oral question (27 June), this amendment would require the Secretary of State to undertake a review of existing criminal offences under the listed enactments to determine whether they apply to online posts containing or facilitating animal torture. If they do, the Secretary of State would be compelled to add these offences to the list of priority offences in Schedule 7.

Ayes 211, Noes 171.

Debate in Parliament |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Bishop1 04.0%
Con0 156 (+2 tell)57.2%
Crossbench26 416.9%
Green2 0100.0%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Judge1 09.1%
Lab107 (+2 tell) 060.6%
LDem61 073.5%
Non-affiliated9 626.8%
Total:208 16646.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Aberdare Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Carrington Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Greenway Crossbenchno
Lord Kilclooney Crossbenchno
Lord Faulks Non-affiliatedno
Baroness Fox of BuckleyNon-affiliatedno
Lord Gadhia Non-affiliatedno
Baroness Stowell of BeestonNon-affiliated (front bench)no
Lord Taylor of WarwickNon-affiliatedno
Lord Tyrie Non-affiliated (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive