Illegal Migration Bill — Commons Reasons — Motion A1 (as an amendment to Motion A) — 17 Jul 2023 at 22:30

Moved by Baroness Chakrabarti

90F: Leave out Clause 1 and insert the following new clause-“IntroductionIn interpreting this Act, regard shall be given to the United Kingdom’s obligations under-(a) the 1950 European Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms;(b) the 1951 UN Convention relating to the Status of Refugees including the Protocol to that Convention;(c) the 1954 and 1961 UN Conventions on the Reduction of Statelessness;(d) the 1989 UN Convention on the Rights of the Child;(e) the 2005 Council of Europe Convention on Action against Trafficking Human Beings.”

90G: Clause 4, page 6, line 7, at end insert “if the court seized of the application refuses permission or interim relief or dismisses the application.”

90H: Clause 52, page 54, line 3, at end insert “without giving reasonable notice to the Secretary of State so as to allow representations as to why, notwithstanding ongoing proceedings as to the legality of a decision to remove the person, they should nonetheless be removed.””

Ayes 200, Noes 217.

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop0 520.0%
Con199 (+2 tell) 070.5%
Crossbench8 1915.6%
DUP1 016.7%
Green0 2100.0%
Independent Labour0 1100.0%
Judge0 110.0%
Lab0 101 (+2 tell)57.9%
LDem0 6172.6%
Non-affiliated7 826.3%
Total:215 19850.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by name

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Carrington Crossbench (front bench)no
Viscount Craigavon Crossbenchno
Lord Faulks Non-affiliatedno
Baroness Fox of BuckleyNon-affiliatedno
Lord Greenway Crossbenchno
Baroness Hoey Non-affiliatedno
Baroness Hogg Crossbenchno
Lord Kakkar Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Lupton Non-affiliatedno
Lord Mawson Crossbench (front bench)no
Earl Peel Crossbenchno
Baroness Stowell of BeestonNon-affiliated (front bench)no
Baroness Stuart of EdgbastonNon-affiliatedno
Lord Verdirame Non-affiliatedno
Viscount Waverley Crossbenchno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive