Economic Crime and Corporate Transparency Bill — Commons Amendments and Reasons — Motion E1 (as an amendment to Motion E) — 11 Sep 2023 at 17:00

Moved by Lord Garnier

151B: As an amendment to Lords Amendment 151, in subsection (1), after first “body” insert “which is a non-micro organisation or which is a large organisation (see sections (Section (Failure to prevent fraud): non-micro organisations), (Section (Failure to prevent fraud): large organisations) and (Large organisations: parent undertakings))”

151C: After Clause 180, insert the following new Clause-“Section (Failure to prevent fraud): non-micro organisationsFor the purposes of section (Failure to prevent fraud)(1) a relevant body is a “non-micro organisation” only if the body satisfied two or more of the following conditions in the financial year of the body (“year P”) that precedes the year of the fraud offence-Turnover More than £632,000 and less than £36 millionBalance sheet totalMore than £316,000 and less than £18 millionNumber of employeesMore than 10 and less than 250.(2) For a period that is a relevant body’s financial year but not in fact a year, the figure for turnover must be proportionately adjusted.(3) In subsection (1) the “number of employees” means the average number of persons employed by the relevant body in year P, determined as follows-(a) find for each month in year P the number of persons employed under contracts of service by the relevant body in that month(whether throughout the month or not),(b) add together the monthly totals, and (c) divide by the number of months in year P.(4) In this section-“balance sheet total”, in relation to a relevant body and a financial year-(a) means the aggregate of the amounts shown as assets in its balance sheet at the end of the financial year, or(b) where the body has no balance sheet for the financial year, has a corresponding meaning;“turnover”-(a) in relation to a UK company, has the same meaning as in Part 15 of the Companies Act 2006 (see section 474 of that Act);(b) in relation to any other relevant body, has a corresponding meaning; “year of the fraud offence” is to be interpreted in accordance with section (Failure to prevent fraud)(1).(5) The Secretary of State may by regulations modify this section (other than this subsection and subsections (6) and (8)) for the purpose of altering the meaning of “non-micro organisation” in section (Failure to prevent fraud)(1).(6) The Secretary of State may (whether or not the power in subsection (5) has been exercised) by regulations-(a) omit the words “which is a non-micro organisation or” in section (Failure to prevent fraud)(1), and(b) make any modifications of this section (other than this subsection) that the Secretary of State thinks appropriate in consequence of provision made under quotegraph (a). (7) Before making regulations under subsection (5) or (6) the Secretary of State must consult-(a) the Scottish Ministers, and(b) the Department of Justice in Northern Ireland.(8) Regulations under subsection (5) or (6) may make consequential amendments of section (Failure to prevent fraud: minor definitions).””

Ayes 211, Noes 185.

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Con2 171 (+2 tell)61.8%
Crossbench35 523.3%
DUP4 066.7%
Green2 0100.0%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Lab95 (+2 tell) 156.0%
LDem58 069.9%
Non-affiliated11 528.1%
PC1 0100.0%
UUP0 150.0%
Total:209 18350.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Agnew of OultonCon (front bench)aye
Lord Garnier Con (front bench)aye
Lord Bew Crossbenchno
Lord Laming Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Londesborough Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Mountevans Crossbenchno
Lord Stirrup Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Morgan Labno
Baroness Foster of AghadrumseeNon-affiliatedno
Lord Fowler Non-affiliatedno
Baroness Hoey Non-affiliatedno
Baroness Stowell of BeestonNon-affiliated (front bench)no
Lord Tyrie Non-affiliated (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive