Energy Bill [HL] — Commons Amendments — Amendment to the Motion on Amendment 274 — 12 Sep 2023 at 17:23

Moved by Baroness Boycott

274B: After Clause 271, insert the following new Clause-“Local supply for community energy (1) Within 18 months of this Act being passed the Secretary of State must consult and report on the barriers preventing the development of community energy schemes.(2) For the purposes of this section, community energy schemes are defined as low carbon and renewable energy schemes owned, or part-owned, by community organisations.(3) In carrying out the consultation, the Secretary of State must consult with-(a) current and prospective community energy generators,(b) the community energy industry,(c) the electricity transmission and distribution industries,(d) licensed energy suppliers, and(e) any other persons deemed relevant by the Secretary of State.(4) Within six months of the closure of the consultation conducted under subsection (1), the Secretary of State must respond to the consultation and bring forward proposals to remove the barriers preventing the development of community energy schemes.””

Ayes 208, Noes 205.

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Bishop1 04.2%
Con0 187 (+2 tell)66.8%
Crossbench25 (+2 tell) 820.3%
DUP0 116.7%
Green2 0100.0%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Judge1 010.0%
Lab107 061.1%
LDem60 072.3%
Non-affiliated8 624.6%
PC1 0100.0%
UUP0 150.0%
Total:206 20350.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

The Earl of Cork and OrreryCrossbench (front bench)no
Viscount Craigavon Crossbenchno
Lord Craig of RadleyCrossbenchno
Baroness Deech Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Greenway Crossbenchno
Lord Hogan-Howe Crossbenchno
The Earl of LyttonCrossbenchno
Lord Mawson Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Faulks Non-affiliatedno
Baroness Foster of AghadrumseeNon-affiliatedno
Lord Fowler Non-affiliatedno
Lord Moore of EtchinghamNon-affiliatedno
Baroness Stowell of BeestonNon-affiliated (front bench)no
Lord Tyrie Non-affiliated (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive