Hunting Trophies (Import Prohibition) Bill — Committee — Amendment 1 — 12 Sep 2023 at 20:30

Moved by The Earl of Caithness

1: Clause 1, page 1, line 1, at end insert-“(A1) This section has effect in a calendar year only if, before the end of the previous calendar year, the Secretary of State has made a statement in writing to the effect that, in the Secretary of State’s view, its operation will not cause unintended and perverse consequences for wildlife conservation and for communities in areas outside Great Britain where hunting takes place.”

Ayes 30, Noes 39.

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Con12 (+1 tell) 21 (+2 tell)12.7%
Crossbench4 34.1%
DUP2 033.3%
Green1 050.0%
Lab11 (+1 tell) 17.4%
LDem7 19.6%
Non-affiliated0 23.5%
Total:37 288.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Benyon Con (front bench)no
The Earl of CourtownCon (front bench)no
Lord Davies of GowerCon (front bench)no
Lord Evans of RainowCon (front bench)no
Baroness Fookes Con (front bench)tellno
Lord Gascoigne Conno
Lord Harlech Con (front bench)no
Lord Kirkham Conno
Lord Norton of LouthConno
Lord Randall of UxbridgeConno
Baroness Sanderson of WeltonCon (front bench)no
Baroness Stedman-Scott Con (front bench)no
Baroness Williams of TraffordCon (front bench)no
The Earl of ErrollCrossbenchaye
Lord St John of BletsoCrossbenchaye
Lord Turnbull Crossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Howarth of NewportLabaye
Viscount Thurso LDem (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive