Safety of Rwanda (Asylum and Immigration) Bill — Report (1st Day) — Amendment 7 — 4 Mar 2024 at 17:55

Moved by Lord Hope of Craighead

7: Clause 1, page 2, line 31, at the end insert- “(7) The Rwanda Treaty will have been fully implemented for the purposes of this Act when the Secretary of State has obtained and laid before Parliament a statement from the independent Monitoring Committee formed under Article 15 that the objectives referred to in Article 2 of the Treaty have been secured by the creation of the mechanisms listed in that Article.(8) The Secretary of State must consult the Monitoring Committee every three months during the period that the Treaty remains in force, and must make a statement to Parliament at the earliest opportunity in the event that the advice of the Monitoring Committee is that the provisions of the Treaty are not being adhered to in practice.(9) If the advice of the Monitoring Committee is as referred to in subsection (8), the Rwanda Treaty shall cease to be treated as fully implemented for the purposes of this Act unless and until the Secretary of State has obtained from the Monitoring Committee, and laid before Parliament, subsequent advice that the provisions of the Treaty are being adhered to in practice.”Member's explanatory statementThis amendment seeks to provide a means by which it can be determined for the purposes of this Act that the Rwanda Treaty has been, and continues to be, fully implemented.

Ayes 277, Noes 167.

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Bishop5 020.0%
Con5 155 (+2 tell)56.8%
Crossbench60 (+1 tell) 437.8%
Green2 0100.0%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Judge2 (+1 tell) 033.3%
Lab121 070.8%
LDem69 085.2%
Non-affiliated10 526.8%
UUP0 150.0%
Total:275 16555.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Clarke of NottinghamConaye
Lord Deben Conaye
Viscount Eccles Con (front bench)aye
Baroness Fairhead Conaye
Viscount Hailsham Conaye
Lord Carrington Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Craig of RadleyCrossbenchno
Lord Powell of BayswaterCrossbench (front bench)no
Viscount Waverley Crossbenchno
Lord Faulks Non-affiliated (front bench)no
Baroness Hoey Non-affiliatedno
Lord Lupton Non-affiliatedno
Lord Moore of EtchinghamNon-affiliatedno
Baroness Stowell of BeestonNon-affiliated (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive