Safety of Rwanda (Asylum and Immigration) Bill — Report (2nd Day) — Amendment 41 — 6 Mar 2024 at 18:45

Moved by Lord Coaker

41: After Clause 5, insert the following new Clause-“Removals to Rwanda under the Illegal Migration Act 2023Within 60 days of the day on which this Act is passed, the Secretary of State must lay before Parliament a statement referring to all individuals whose asylum claims have been deemed inadmissible since the granting of Royal Assent to the Illegal Migration Act 2023, confirming-(a) the number of such individuals due to be removed to the Republic of Rwanda under the Rwanda Treaty,(b) the timetable for these removals, and(c) the arrangements in place for any such individuals not due to be removed to the Republic of Rwanda during the time period set out in the Rwanda Treaty.”Member’s explanatory statementThis new Clause requires the publication of a timetable for the Government’s plans to remove asylum cases accrued under the provisions of the Illegal Migration Act 2023 to Rwanda.

Ayes 228, Noes 184.

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Bishop0 14.0%
Con0 162 (+2 tell)57.3%
Crossbench29 1123.3%
DUP0 350.0%
Green1 050.0%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Judge3 033.3%
Lab114 (+2 tell) 067.4%
LDem66 081.5%
Non-affiliated11 426.8%
PC1 0100.0%
UUP0 150.0%
Total:226 18250.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Berkeley of KnightonCrossbenchno
Lord Carrington Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Chartres Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Green of DeddingtonCrossbenchno
Lord Green of HurstpierpointCrossbenchno
Lord Greenway Crossbenchno
Lord Hogan-Howe Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Powell of BayswaterCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Ravensdale Crossbench (front bench)no
Viscount Waverley Crossbenchno
The Duke of WellingtonCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Faulks Non-affiliated (front bench)no
Lord Lupton Non-affiliatedno
Lord Moore of EtchinghamNon-affiliatedno
Baroness Stowell of BeestonNon-affiliated (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive