Safety of Rwanda (Asylum and Immigration) Bill — Commons Reasons — Motion B1 (as an amendment to Motion B) — 17 Apr 2024 at 19:15

Moved by Lord Hope of Craighead

3G: Clause 1, page 2, line 31, at the end insert-“(7) The Republic of Rwanda cannot be treated as a safe country for any of the purposes of this Act until the Secretary of State has obtained and laid before Parliament a statement from the independent Monitoring Committee formed under Article 15 that the Objectives referred to in Article 2 of the Rwanda Treaty have been secured by the creation of the mechanisms listed in that Article.(8) The Republic of Rwanda can no longer be treated as a safe country for any of the purposes of this Act if a statement is made to Parliament by the Secretary of State that the provisions of the Rwanda Treaty are no longer being adhered to in practice.””

Ayes 245, Noes 208.

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Bishop2 08.0%
Con1 192 (+2 tell)66.8%
Crossbench42 (+1 tell) 125.6%
DUP0 583.3%
Green2 0100.0%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Judge1 (+1 tell) 022.2%
Lab118 068.2%
LDem68 084.0%
Non-affiliated7 623.2%
PC1 050.0%
UUP0 2100.0%
Total:243 20655.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Baroness Fairhead Con (front bench)aye
The Earl of ErrollCrossbenchno
Lord Faulks Non-affiliated (front bench)no
Baroness Foster of AghadrumseeNon-affiliatedno
Baroness Hoey Non-affiliatedno
Baroness Stowell of BeestonNon-affiliated (front bench)no
Lord Truscott Non-affiliatedno
Lord Tyrie Non-affiliated (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive