Safety of Rwanda (Asylum and Immigration) Bill — Commons Reasons — Motion A1 (as an amendment to Motion A) — 22 Apr 2024 at 20:15

Moved by Lord Anderson of Ipswich

3J: Clause 1, page 2, line 31, at end insert-“(7) The Republic of Rwanda may be treated as a safe country for the purposes of this Act only once the Secretary of State, having consulted the Monitoring Committee formed under Article 15 of the Rwanda Treaty, has made a statement to Parliament to that effect.(8) The Republic of Rwanda must cease to be treated as a safe country for the purposes of this Act once the Secretary of State has made a statement to Parliament to that effect.””

Ayes 240, Noes 211.

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Bishop2 08.0%
Con2 187 (+2 tell)65.4%
Crossbench34 (+2 tell) 1127.3%
DUP0 350.0%
Green2 0100.0%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Judge1 011.1%
Lab120 069.8%
LDem68 084.0%
Non-affiliated7 623.2%
PC1 050.0%
UUP0 2100.0%
Total:238 20955.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Baroness Fairhead Con (front bench)aye
Lord James of BlackheathConaye
Viscount Colville of CulrossCrossbench (front bench)no
Viscount Craigavon Crossbenchno
Lord Craig of RadleyCrossbenchno
Lord Green of DeddingtonCrossbenchno
Lord Greenway Crossbenchno
Lord Morse Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Ravensdale Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Thurlow Crossbenchno
Lord Trevethin and Oaksey Crossbenchno
Lord Vaux of HarrowdenCrossbench (front bench)no
Viscount Waverley Crossbenchno
Lord Faulks Non-affiliated (front bench)no
Baroness Hoey Non-affiliatedno
Lord Moore of EtchinghamNon-affiliatedno
Baroness Stowell of BeestonNon-affiliated (front bench)no
Lord Truscott Non-affiliatedno
Lord Tyrie Non-affiliated (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive