Victims and Prisoners Bill — Report (3rd Day) — Amendment 119AA — 30 Apr 2024 at 18:00

Moved by Lord Wills

119AA: After Clause 39, insert the following new Clause-“Power of Secretary of State to establish an inquiry on major incidents(1) Within six months of the declaration of a major incident under section 28(2), the Secretary of State must make a statement to the House of Commons on whether they intend to establish-(a) an inquiry under the Inquiries Act 2005,(b) an alternative fact-finding inquiry, or(c) no inquiry at that time.(2) A person or persons appointed to hold an inquiry established under subsection (1)(b) must be granted the powers to see and report on all relevant documentation.(3) A statement under subsection (1) must set out why the Secretary of State believes the decision is in the public interest. (4) In consideration of the public interest, the Secretary of State must demonstrate that they have had regard to timeliness, cost, transparency and the emotional and financial interests of the parties.”

Ayes 209, Noes 209.

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

Bishop2 08.0%
Con0 189 (+2 tell)65.4%
Crossbench21 917.5%
DUP2 266.7%
Green1 050.0%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Judge0 111.1%
Lab116 (+2 tell) 068.6%
LDem55 067.9%
Non-affiliated7 521.4%
PC2 0100.0%
UUP0 150.0%
Total:207 20751.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Aberdare Crossbench (front bench)no
Baroness Cavendish of Little VeniceCrossbenchno
Lord Chartres Crossbench (front bench)no
Viscount Craigavon Crossbenchno
Lord Cromwell Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Greenway Crossbenchno
Lord Hogan-Howe Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Kakkar Crossbenchno
Lord Patel Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Faulks Non-affiliated (front bench)no
Baroness Stowell of BeestonNon-affiliated (front bench)no
Baroness Stuart of EdgbastonNon-affiliatedno
Lord Taylor of WarwickNon-affiliatedno
Lord Young of Old WindsorNon-affiliated (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive