Matthew Hancock MP, West Suffolk

voted ambiguously on the policy

Against On-Shore Wind Turbines

by scoring 57.6% compared to the votes below

Why Majority/minority instead of Aye/No?
HouseDateSubjectMatthew HancockPolicy vote
Commons21 Jan 2015Onshore Wind Turbine Subsidies (Abolition) Bill absentMajority (strong)
HouseDateSubjectMatthew HancockPolicy vote
Commons14 Mar 2016Energy Bill — Clause 79 — Onshore Wind Power — Delay Exclusion of Onshore Wind Contribition to Renewable Electricity Generation Requirements absentMajority
Commons14 Mar 2016Energy Bill — Clause 80 — Use of Planning Committee Decision Date Rather Than Date Planning Permission was Granted absentMajority
Commons20 Apr 2016Energy Bill — Onshore Wind Power — Ceasing to Count Towards Renewables Obligation MajorityMajority
Commons9 May 2016Energy Bill — Onshore Wind Power — Ceasing to Count Towards Renewables Obligation absentMajority

How the number is calculated

The MP's votes count towards a weighted average where the most important votes get 50 points, less important votes get 10 points, and less important votes for which the MP was absent get 2 points. In important votes the MP gets awarded the full 50 points for voting the same as the policy, no points for voting against the policy, and 25 points for not voting. In less important votes, the MP gets 10 points for voting with the policy, no points for voting against, and 1 (out of 2) if absent.

Questions about this formula can be discussed on the forum.

No of votesPointsOut of
Most important votes (50 points)   
MP voted with policy000
MP voted against policy000
MP absent12550
Less important votes (10 points)   
MP voted with policy11010
MP voted against policy000
Less important absentees (2 points)   
MP absent*336

*Pressure of other work means MPs or Lords are not always available to vote – it does not always indicate they have abstained. Therefore, being absent on a less important vote makes a disproportionatly small difference.

agreement score
MP's points
total points
 = 57.6 %.

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive