Seema Malhotra MP, Feltham and Heston

voted strongly for the policy

Additional Rate of Income Tax - Increase

by scoring 92.2% compared to the votes below

Why Majority/minority instead of Aye/No?
HouseDateSubjectSeema MalhotraPolicy vote
Commons26 Mar 2012March 2012 Budget minorityminority (strong)
Commons26 Mar 2012Reduction in Income Tax Rate Applying to Income Over £150,000 absentminority (strong)
Commons28 Nov 2012Reduction in Income Tax Rate Applying to Income Over £150,000 minorityminority (strong)
Commons25 Mar 2013March 2013 Budget minorityminority
Commons15 Apr 2013Finance Bill 2013 — Second Reading minorityminority
Commons25 Mar 2014March 2014 Budget minorityminority
Commons2 Jul 2014Finance Bill 2013-14 to 2014-15 — Third Reading minorityminority
Commons5 Nov 2014Opposition Day — Additional Rate of Income Tax minorityminority (strong)
Commons4 Mar 2015Opposition Day — The Economy — Top Rate of Income Tax minorityminority (strong)
Commons23 Mar 2015March 2015 Budget minorityminority
Commons23 Mar 2015Income Tax 2015-16 minorityminority
Commons25 Mar 2015Finance Bill — Third Reading minorityminority

How the number is calculated

The MP's votes count towards a weighted average where the most important votes get 50 points, less important votes get 10 points, and less important votes for which the MP was absent get 2 points. In important votes the MP gets awarded the full 50 points for voting the same as the policy, no points for voting against the policy, and 25 points for not voting. In less important votes, the MP gets 10 points for voting with the policy, no points for voting against, and 1 (out of 2) if absent.

Questions about this formula can be discussed on the forum.

No of votesPointsOut of
Most important votes (50 points)   
MP voted with policy4200200
MP voted against policy000
MP absent12550
Less important votes (10 points)   
MP voted with policy77070
MP voted against policy000
Less important absentees (2 points)   
MP absent*000

*Pressure of other work means MPs or Lords are not always available to vote – it does not always indicate they have abstained. Therefore, being absent on a less important vote makes a disproportionatly small difference.

agreement score
MP's points
total points
 = 92.2 %.

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive