Broadcasting (Religious Programming) — 13 Jul 1999

I beg to move,

That leave be given to bring in a Bill to remove restrictions on the ownership by religious bodies of broadcasting licences and to clarify the role of the Radio Authority and the Independent Television Commission in relation to the religious content of programmes.

Question put, pursuant to Standing Order No. 23 (Motions for leave to bring in Bills and nomination of Select Committees at commencement of public business): --

The House divided: Ayes 138, Noes 9.

Historical Hansard | Online Hansard |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con54 (+2 tell) 0 (+2 tell)036.0%
DUP2 00100.0%
Independent0 1050.0%
Lab48 7013.2%
LDem20 0145.7%
PC1 0025.0%
SDLP3 00100.0%
SNP1 0016.7%
UKUP1 00100.0%
UUP7 0070.0%
Total:137 8123.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Tim LoughtonEast Worthing and ShorehamCon (front bench)tellno
Desmond SwayneNew Forest WestCon (front bench)tellno
Mr Joe AshtonBassetlawLabno
Mr Harry BarnesNorth East DerbyshireLabno
Maria EagleLiverpool, GarstonLab (minister)no
Eric IllsleyBarnsley CentralLabno
Tom LevittHigh PeakLabno
Mr John MaxtonGlasgow CathcartLabno
Alan WhiteheadSouthampton, TestLab (minister)no
Evan HarrisOxford West and AbingdonLDemboth

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive