[S1M-240.1 (Amendment)] Decision Time — 3 Nov 1999 at 16:50

This looks like the vote on S1M-240.1

The description in the bulletin on 1999-11-03 is:

*S1M-240.1 Mr Alex Salmond: Scottish Executive's Compact with the Voluntary Sector-As an amendment to motion (S1M-240) in the name of Ms Wendy Alexander, insert at end "and furthermore recognises the need for an independent body to be established with the remit to provide pro-active support for the development and promotion of the entire voluntary sector, and in particular to encourage co-operation between Compact signatories, non Compact signatories and the Scottish Executive." Supported by: Mr Lloyd Quinan*, Linda Fabiani*, Fiona Hyslop*, Alex Neil*

You can search for this motion (S1M-240.1) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

There are four questions to be put as a result of today's business. The first question is that amendment S1M-240.1, in the name of Mr Alex Salmond, which seeks to amend motion S1M-240, in the name of Ms Wendy Alexander, on the Scottish Executive's compact with the voluntary sector, be agreed to. Are we all agreed?


In that case, there will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)AbstentionsTurnout
Con15 0083.3%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 1033.3%
Lab46 0082.1%
LDem13 0081.3%
SNP0 25075.8%
SSP0 10100.0%
Total:74 28079.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive