[S1M-354.1 (Amendment)] Decision Time — 9 Dec 1999 at 17:00

This looks like the vote on S1M-354.1

The description in the bulletin on 1999-12-09 is:

*S1M-354.1 Tommy Sheridan: First Report of the Procedures Committee—As an amendment to motion (S1M-354) in the name of Mr Murray Tosh, after "that draft" insert "with the addition of, in Rule 5.6.1(b), after "under Rule 5.2.2" insert "or by members who do not represent a political party."" Supported by: Dennis Canavan*, Robin Harper*  

You can search for this motion (S1M-354.1) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The question is, that Mr Sheridan's amendment be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)AbstentionsTurnout
Con14 0077.8%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 30100.0%
Lab44 0383.9%
LDem14 0087.5%
SNP1 23175.8%
SSP0 10100.0%
Total:73 28482.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Gil PatersonCentral ScotlandSNPabstention
John McAllionDundee EastLababstention
Cathy PeattieFalkirk EastLababstention
Kenneth GibsonGlasgowSNPno
Sylvia JacksonStirlingLababstention

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive