[S1M-675.1 (Amendment)] Decision Time — 23 Mar 2000 at 17:13

This looks like the vote on S1M-675.1

The description in the bulletin on 2000-03-23 is:

*S1M-675.1 Alex Johnstone: Genetic Modification Science—As an amendment to motion (S1M-675) in the name of Susan Deacon, leave out from "commends" to end and insert "and, while recognising the excellence of the Scottish biotechnology industry and the benefits that GM technology has the potential to provide, calls upon the Scottish Executive to delay the recently announced farm scale trials until evidence from previous scientific tests, proving beyond any reasonable doubt that such trials pose no threat to the environment or public health, has been thoroughly evaluated by a range of independent assessors and placed in the public domain." Supported by: Alex Fergusson*  

You can search for this motion (S1M-675.1) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The fifth question is, that amendment S1M-675.1, in the name of Alex Johnstone, which seeks to amend motion S1M-675, in the name of Susan Deacon, on genetic modification science, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 16084.2%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 21100.0%
Lab44 0080.0%
LDem13 0081.3%
SNP0 29087.9%
Total:57 48183.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive