Freedom of Information Bill — 17 Oct 2000 at 22:45

The majority of Lords voted in favour of an amendment to the Freedom of Information Bill which removed a fixed time limit for providing a response to a request for information in cases where public authorities consider a "public interest test". The time limit for a response where a "public interest test" is carried out became "such time as is reasonable in the circumstances". Without this amendment the time limit would have been a fixed number of working days, as applies to cases where no "public interest test" is carried out. The amendment read:
Page 5, line 35, at end insert--

("(2A) If, and to the extent that--

(a) section 1(1)(a) would not apply but for paragraphs (a) and (b) of section (Effect of exemptions)(1), or

(b) section 1(1)(b) would not apply but for paragraphs (a) and (b) of section (Effect of exemptions)(2),

the public authority need not comply with section 1(1)(a) or (b) until such time as is reasonable in the circumstances; but this subsection does not affect the time by which any notice under section 15(1) must be given.").

On Question, Whether the said amendment (No. 79) shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 48; Not-Contents, 12.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

All Votes Cast - sorted by vote

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party are marked in red. Also shows which lords were ministers at the time of this vote. You can also see every eligible lord including those who did not vote in this division.

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Alli Labaye
Baroness Amos Lab (minister)aye
Baroness Andrews Labaye
Lord Archer of SandwellLabaye
Lord Bach Lab (minister)aye
Lord Bassam of BrightonLab (minister)aye
Lord Berkeley Labaye
Lord Bernstein of CraigweilLabaye
Baroness Billingham Labaye
Lord Bragg Labaye
Lord Brennan Labaye
Lord Burlison Labaye
Lord Carter Lab (minister)tellaye
Lord Cocks of HartcliffeLabaye
Baroness Cohen of PimlicoLabaye
Baroness Dean of Thornton-le-FyldeLabaye
Lord Evans of ParksideLab (minister)aye
Lord Falconer of ThorotonLab (minister)aye
Baroness Farrington of RibbletonLab (minister)aye
Lord Faulkner of WorcesterLabaye
Lord Fyfe of FairfieldLabaye
Baroness Gale Labaye
Baroness Gibson of Market RasenLabaye
Lord Harris of HaringeyLabaye
Lord Harrison Labaye
Baroness Hayman Lab (minister)aye
Baroness Hollis of HeighamLab (minister)aye
Lord Hunt of ChestertonLabaye
Lord Hunt of Kings HeathLab (minister)aye
Lord Judd Labaye
Lord Layard Labaye
Lord Lea of CrondallLabaye
Lord Lipsey Labaye
Lord Macdonald of TradestonLab (minister)aye
Baroness Massey of DarwenLab (minister)aye
Lord McIntosh of HaringeyLab (minister)tellaye
Lord Mitchell Labaye
Lord Parekh Labaye
Baroness Rendell of BaberghLab (minister)aye
Lord Smith of LeighLabaye
Lord Stone of BlackheathLab (minister)aye
Baroness Symons of Vernham DeanLab (minister)aye
Baroness Thornton Labaye
Lord Turnberg Labaye
Lord Watson of InvergowrieLabaye
Baroness Whitaker Labaye
Lord Williams of MostynLab (minister)aye
Lord Woolmer of LeedsLabaye
Earl Attlee Conno
Lord Cope of BerkeleyConno
Lord Glentoran Conno
Lord Henley Con (front bench)tellno
Lord Lucas Contellno
Lord Northbrook Conno
The Earl of NortheskConno
Lord Norton of LouthConno
Baroness Park of MonmouthConno
Lord Roberts of ConwyConno
The Earl of ShrewsburyConno
Lord Willoughby de Broke Con (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive