Police (Northern Ireland) Bill — The Board's policing plan — 21 Nov 2000

Lords amendment agreed to.

Lords amendment No. 25 agreed to.

Lords amendment: No. 26, in page 12, line 22, leave out from ("shall") to ("matters") in line 23 and insert


(a) contain an assessment of the requirements for educating and training police officers and members of the police support staff and give particulars of the way in which those requirements are to be met; and

(b) include such other statements and give particulars of such other")

Amendment proposed to the Lords amendment: (a), in line 4, after "staff", insert--

'particularly with regard to human rights'.-- [Mr. McNamara.]

Question put, That the amendment to the Lords amendment be made:--

The House divided: Ayes 32, Noes 252.

Historical Hansard | Online Hansard |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con0 000.0%
DUP3 00100.0%
Lab240 (+2 tell) 4 (+1 tell)059.8%
LDem1 24 (+1 tell)157.4%
PC0 1025.0%
SDLP0 2066.7%
UKUP1 00100.0%
UUP6 0066.7%
Total:251 31144.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Diane AbbottHackney North and Stoke NewingtonLab (minister)aye
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabaye
Dr Norman GodmanGreenock and InverclydeLabaye
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabtellaye
Mr Kevin McNamaraKingston upon Hull NorthLabaye
Nick HarveyNorth DevonLDem (front bench)no
Andrew GeorgeSt IvesLDem (front bench)both

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive