[S1M-1555.1 (Amendment)] Decision Time — 17 Jan 2001 at 17:32

This looks like the vote on S1M-1555.1

The description in the bulletin on 2001-01-17 is:

*S1M-1555.1 Tricia Marwick: Convenership of Committees—As an amendment to motion (S1M-1555) in the name of Mr Tom McCabe, leave out from "the Convener" to end and insert "the founding principles of the Parliament as established by the Consultative Steering Group must not be undermined; that those principles have as their bedrock the fair representation of the parties in the Parliament, on parliamentary committees and in the role of Convener and Deputy Convener of those committees; and therefore instructs the Parliamentary Bureau to bring forward a proposal to allocate the Convenership and Deputy Convenership of the Justice 2 Committee according to the system that has been successfully applied since the establishment of the Parliament and which has to date commanded all party support."

You can search for this motion (S1M-1555.1) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The sixth question is, that amendment S1M-1555.1, in the name of Tricia Marwick, which seeks to amend motion S1M-1555, in the name of Mr Tom McCabe, on the convenership of committees, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)AbstentionsTurnout
Con16 1089.5%
Independent0 2066.7%
Lab48 0087.3%
LDem10 4087.5%
SNP1 29090.9%
SSP0 10100.0%
Total:75 37088.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Murray ToshSouth of ScotlandConaye
John Farquhar MunroRoss, Skye and Inverness WestLDemaye
Donald GorrieCentral ScotlandLDemaye
Mike RumblesWest Aberdeenshire and KincardineLDemaye
Iain SmithNorth East FifeLDemaye
Lloyd QuinanWest of ScotlandSNPno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive