Anti-terrorism, Crime and Security Bill — New Clause 6 — Sunset Clause — 21 Nov 2001 at 18:00

The Aye-voters failed to add three new clauses to the Anti-terrorism, Crime and Security Bill which would have limited the duration of the Act that this Bill would become once it passed into law, and would have required the Secretary of State to produce an annual report on the parts of the Act relating to terrorism.

This proposal is called a "Sunset Clause", and it listed which parts of the Bill would last for one, two, and five years once it became law. This is an important device that ensures that legislation passed in the in the heat of a crisis is reviewed after a cooling off period. Otherwise it is liable to remain part of the law forever, for there is rarely an equal and opposite crisis that requires the Act to be removed.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con0 145 (+2 tell)089.6%
DUP0 4080.0%
Lab350 (+2 tell) 9088.0%
LDem0 46088.5%
PC0 40100.0%
SNP0 50100.0%
UUP0 3050.0%
Total:350 216088.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Diane AbbottHackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabaye
Mr Andrew BennettDenton and ReddishLabaye
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabaye
Mr Tam DalyellLinlithgowLabaye
George GallowayGlasgow Kelvinwhilst Labaye
Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLabaye
Dr Jim MarshallLeicester SouthLabaye
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLab (minister)aye
Mr Kevin McNamaraKingston upon Hull NorthLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive