Anti-terrorism, Crime and Security Bill — Terrorist certification by Home Secretary — 21 Nov 2001 at 20:31

The majority of MPs voted in favour of a scheme whereby the Home Secretary could issue a certificate against a person whose presence in the United Kingdom he reasonably believes is a risk to national security, and whom he reasonably suspects is a terrorist.[1]

A "terrorist" is defined as someone who is or was concerned in the preparation or instigation of acts of international terrorism, or has links to an international terrorist group.[1]

A late government amendment had inserted the word "reasonably" into the above sentence.[2]

A later vote established the powers of indefinite detention against someone who is subject to such a certificate.[3]

Only subsections (1)-(5) and (7) of clause 21 appeared in this version of the Bill at this stage.[4]

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con0 1 (+2 tell)01.8%
DUP0 4080.0%
Lab342 (+2 tell) 12086.8%
LDem0 48092.3%
PC0 40100.0%
SNP0 50100.0%
UUP0 3050.0%
Total:342 77065.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr Andrew BennettDenton and ReddishLabno
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabno
Mr Tam DalyellLinlithgowLabno
George GallowayGlasgow Kelvinwhilst Labno
Mr Terry LewisWorsleyLabno
Dr Jim MarshallLeicester SouthLabno
Robert Marshall-AndrewsMedwayLabno
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLab (minister)no
Mr Kevin McNamaraKingston upon Hull NorthLabno
Mr Brian SedgemoreHackney South and ShoreditchLabno
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLab (minister)no
Mr Jimmy WrayGlasgow BailliestonLabno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive