Anti-terrorism, Crime and Security Bill — Amendment to Clause 97 — Jurisdiction of MoD police — 26 Nov 2001 at 22:45

The Aye-voters failed to make a change to Clause 97 (or Clause 98 of the final Act) of the Anti-Terrorism, Crime and Security Bill.

This clause extends the power of the MoD police to act as outside of their current territory and into civilian areas by request of any other police constable. The proposed change (which was rejected) would have inserted the phrase "[in relation to an offense] which he might reasonably assume to be terrorism" into that clause. Without this change, the law applies to all situations not involving terrorism.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con0 139 (+1 tell)085.4%
DUP0 4080.0%
Independent0 10100.0%
Lab337 (+2 tell) 6083.9%
LDem0 50 (+1 tell)098.1%
PC0 40100.0%
SNP0 1020.0%
UUP1 1033.3%
Total:338 206084.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabaye
Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLabaye
Mr Paul MarsdenShrewsbury and Atchamwhilst Labaye
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLab (minister)aye
Mr Kevin McNamaraKingston upon Hull NorthLabaye
Mr Brian SedgemoreHackney South and ShoreditchLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive