Human Reproductive Cloning Bill[Lords] — 29 Nov 2001 at 18:46

I beg to move, That the Bill be now read a Second time.

As the House will know, the other place passed the Bill without amendment on Monday.

I beg to move,

"That this House declines to give a Second Reading to the Human Reproductive Cloning Bill because it does not address the subject of therapeutic cloning; it does not prevent the creation of embryos by cell nuclear replacement; it does not define terms central to the Bill, such as 'fertilisation' and 'embryo'; and it fails to address the wider issues raised by the prospect of the creation of a cloned human being."

Question put, That the amendment be made:-

The House divided: Ayes 49, Noes 288.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con21 42 (+1 tell)039.0%
Independent1 00100.0%
Lab244 (+2 tell) 2 (+1 tell)060.6%
LDem14 5036.5%
PC4 00100.0%
SNP4 0080.0%
Total:288 49053.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

John ButterfillBournemouth WestConno
Andrew MacKayBracknellConno
Eric ForthBromley and ChislehurstConno
John BercowBuckinghamCon (front bench)no
Andrew TyrieChichesterCon (front bench)no
Greg KnightEast YorkshireCon (front bench)no
Eleanor LaingEpping ForestCon (front bench)no
Ian TaylorEsher and WaltonConno
Peter ViggersGosportConno
Edward GarnierHarboroughConno
Phil WillisHarrogate and KnaresboroughLDem (front bench)aye
Andrew StunellHazel GroveLDem (front bench)aye
Jim DobbinHeywood and MiddletonLabaye
Michael FabricantLichfieldCon (front bench)no
Mr Paul TylerNorth CornwallLDem (front bench)aye
David MacleanPenrith and The BorderCon (front bench)no
Robert SymsPooleCon (front bench)no
Kenneth ClarkeRushcliffeConno
Robert KeySalisburyConno
Mr Paul MarsdenShrewsbury and Atchamwhilst Labtellaye
Andrew LansleySouth CambridgeshireCon (front bench)no
John PughSouthportLDem (front bench)aye
David DrewStroudLab (minister)aye
Laurence RobertsonTewkesburyCon (front bench)no
John StanleyTonbridge and MallingCon (front bench)no
Anne McIntoshVale of YorkCon (front bench)no
Andrew MurrisonWestburyCon (front bench)no
Mr Brian CotterWeston-Super-MareLDem (front bench)aye
David CameronWitneyCon (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive