Nationality, Immigration and Asylum Bill — 31 Oct 2002 at 22:37

Resolved in the negative, and amendment disagreed to accordingly.

[Amendments 89 and 90 not moved].

moved Amendment No. 91:

Page 52, line 29, at end insert-

"(2A) If the Secretary of State certifies under subsection (2) that a claim is clearly unfounded, the person who made the claim may, with the permission of the Immigration Appeal Tribunal, appeal to the Tribunal against the certificate.

(2B) A party to an appeal to the Tribunal under subsection (2A) may apply to the High Court, or in Scotland to the Court of Session, for a review of the Tribunal's decision on the ground that the Tribunal made an error of law.

(2C) Where an application is made under subsection (2B)-

(a) it shall be determined by a single judge by reference only to written submissions,

(b) the judge may affirm or reverse the Tribunal's decision, and

(c) the judge's decision shall be final."

On Question, Whether the said amendment (No. 91) shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 46; Not-Contents, 71.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop0 28.7%
Con0 41.8%
Crossbench0 42.4%
Lab68 (+2 tell) 438.7%
LDem0 30 (+2 tell)48.5%
Other1 07.1%
Total:69 4417.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Archer of SandwellLab (minister)aye
Lord Clinton-Davis Lab (minister)aye
Lord Judd Lab (minister)aye
Baroness Whitaker Lab (minister)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive