Adoption and Children Bill — Suitability Of Adopters — 4 Nov 2002 at 20:15

Whilst in the commons for the first time, the Adoption and Children bill was amended to allow unmarried heterosexual and homosexual couples to adopt children. However, when the bill went to the Lords, they rejected the amendment and reinstated the original "married couples only" rule. Back in the commons, the aye voters in this division sought to reject the modification in the Lords and allow umarried heterosexual and homosexual couples to adopt.

The House divided: Ayes 344, Noes 145.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con8 118 (+2 tell)078.5%
DUP0 4080.0%
Independent0 10100.0%
Independent Conservative0 10100.0%
Lab288 (+2 tell) 19075.4%
LDem44 0083.0%
PC2 0050.0%
SNP2 0040.0%
UUP0 2033.3%
Total:344 145076.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

David CrausbyBolton North EastLab (minister)no
Joe BentonBootleLab (minister)no
Andrew MacKayBracknellConaye
Mr Alan HurstBraintreeLabno
Julie KirkbrideBromsgroveConaye
John BercowBuckinghamConaye
Mr Gerry SteinbergCity of DurhamLabno
Mr Jimmy WrayGlasgow BailliestonLabno
David MarshallGlasgow ShettlestonLabno
Jim DobbinHeywood and MiddletonLabno
Francis MaudeHorshamConaye
Stephen HepburnJarrowLabno
Mr Michael PortilloKensington and ChelseaConaye
Peter KilfoyleLiverpool, WaltonLabno
Mr Denzil DaviesLlanelliLabno
Frank RoyMotherwell and WishawLab (minister)no
Mr Calum MacDonaldNa h-Eileanan an IarLabno
Mr Bill O'BrienNormantonLabno
Mr Tony ColmanPutneyLabno
Kenneth ClarkeRushcliffeConaye
David CurrySkipton and RiponConaye
Andrew LansleySouth CambridgeshireConaye
Mr Kerry PollardSt AlbansLabno
Dave WattsSt Helens NorthLabno
David DrewStroudLab (minister)no
Mr Donald AndersonSwansea EastLab (minister)no
Tony CunninghamWorkingtonLab (minister)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive