[S1M-4012] Decision Time — 13 Mar 2003 at 16:31

This looks like the vote on S1M-4012

The description in the bulletin on 2003-03-12 is:

*S1M-4012 Mr John Swinney: The Current International Situation-That the Parliament believes that no case for military action against Iraq has been proven; believes that no United Kingdom forces should take part in any military action without a United Nations mandate that specifically authorises such action and is based on clear, compelling and published evidence, and believes that any pre-emptive action by the United States of America and the United Kingdom without such a mandate would be contrary to international law.

The description in the bulletin on 2003-03-13 is:

S1M-4012 The Current International Situation (lodged on 11 March 2003) Roseanna Cunningham*, Fiona Hyslop*, Alex Neil*, Brian Adam*, Mr Kenneth Gibson*, Kay Ullrich*, Richard Lochhead*, Bruce Crawford*

You can search for this motion (S1M-4012) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The next question is, that motion S1M-4012, in the name of John Swinney, on the current international situation, as amended, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)AbstentionsTurnout
Con19 00100.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 21100.0%
Lab49 2398.2%
LDem0 15093.8%
SNP0 32097.0%
SSP0 10100.0%
Total:68 53497.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

John McAllionDundee EastLabno
Elaine SmithCoatbridge and ChrystonLabno
Susan DeaconEdinburgh East and MusselburghLababstention
Gordon JacksonGlasgow GovanLababstention
Pauline McNeillGlasgow KelvinLababstention

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive