Motion to sit in private — 14 Mar 2003 at 13:57

The superficial issue in this division was whether the House should debate the Government Powers (Limitation) Bill in a private session. In reality, the attempt to sit in private was a procedural move to end consideration of the Bill which was initiated Andrew Dismore (Member for Hendon). By the Standing Orders of the House, if fewer than 40 MPs voted in the division (regardless of the result), then proceedings on the Bill would cease. Dismore was therefore challenging the Member in charge of the Bill to ensure sufficient supporters were present in order to continue the debate.

See What is a motion to sit in private? in the FAQ.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

All Votes Cast - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party are marked in red. Also shows which MPs were ministers at the time of this vote. You can also see every eligible MP including those who did not vote in this division.

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Dominic GrieveBeaconsfieldCon (front bench)no
Ann KeenBrentford and IsleworthLabtellaye
Eric ForthBromley and ChislehurstConno
John BercowBuckinghamConno
Patsy CaltonCheadleLDemno
Dame Cheryl GillanChesham and AmershamCon (front bench)no
Paul HolmesChesterfieldLDemno
Mark FieldCities of London and WestminsterConno
Mark HobanFarehamCon (front bench)no
Andrew DismoreHendonLabtellaye
Peter LilleyHitchin and HarpendenConno
Bill WigginLeominsterCon (front bench)no
Norman BakerLewesLDemno
Phyllis StarkeyMilton Keynes South WestLabtellno
Bernard JenkinNorth EssexCon (front bench)no
James GrayNorth WiltshireConno
John HeppellNottingham EastLab (minister)tellno
John HoramOrpingtonConno
David MacleanPenrith and The BorderCon (front bench)no
Mark FrancoisRayleighCon (front bench)no
Sandra GidleyRomseyLDemno
Michael FallonSevenoaksCon (front bench)no
Mr Richard AllanSheffield, HallamLDem (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive