Northern Ireland Assembly (Elections and Periods of Suspension) Bill — 12 May 2003 at 21:55

I beg to move, That the Bill be now read a Second time.

This Bill provides for deferment of the elections for the Northern Ireland Assembly that were due to be held on 29 May. I very much regret having to introduce the Bill. I should have much preferred to present an order for the restoration of devolved Government. Elections should be deferred only for the most compelling reasons. However, I am clear that, in presenting the Bill, the Government are doing what is most likely to sustain the Good Friday agreement and a political process that will bring nearer the day when we shall be able to restore the devolved institutions.

It being Ten o'clock, Mr. Deputy Speaker, pursuant to Order [this day], put forthwith the Question, That the Bill be read a Second time:-

The House divided: Ayes 290, Noes 22.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con3 504.9%
DUP0 4 (+1 tell)0100.0%
Independent Conservative0 10100.0%
Lab287 (+2 tell) 2071.0%
LDem0 000.0%
PC0 40100.0%
SDLP0 2066.7%
SNP0 2040.0%
UUP0 2 (+1 tell)050.0%
Total:290 22048.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Julie KirkbrideBromsgroveConaye
Andrew MacKayBracknellConaye
Dr Brian MawhinneyNorth West CambridgeshireConaye
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabno
Mr Kevin McNamaraKingston upon Hull NorthLabno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive