Iraq — Foreign Affairs Committee Report — 16 Jul 2003 at 15:53

The majority of MPs voted against a judicial inquiry into the decision to go to war in Iraq.

The majority of MPs voted against the motion:[1]

  • This House
  • welcomes Ninth Report[2] from the Foreign Affairs Committee on the Decision to go to war in Iraq, Session 2002-03, HC 813;[3]
  • but notes some reservations by Committee members that it not only had insufficient time but insufficient access to crucial documents to come to comprehensive and definitive conclusions on some of the issues;
  • further notes the recent concerns raised over intelligence material; and
  • calls on the Government to set up a judicial inquiry finally to establish the facts of the matter.

In its place a new motion was proposed:[4]

  • This House
  • welcomes the Ninth Report of the Foreign Affairs Committee on the Decision to go to War in Iraq, Session 2002-03, HC 813;
  • notes that substantial oral and written evidence, by and on behalf of the Government, was provided to the Committee;
  • believes that the Intelligence and Security Committee, established by Parliament by statute, is the appropriate body to consider the intelligence relating to Iraq; and
  • notes that this Committee has already begun its inquiry.

This then passed without a further vote.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con1 135 (+2 tell)084.7%
DUP0 1020.0%
Independent0 10100.0%
Independent Conservative0 10100.0%
Independent Ulster Unionist0 1033.3%
Lab297 (+2 tell) 8075.1%
LDem0 46086.8%
PC0 3075.0%
SNP0 4080.0%
UUP1 0033.3%
Total:299 200077.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Patrick CormackSouth StaffordshireCon (front bench)no
Harry CohenLeyton and WansteadLabaye
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabaye
Mr Tam DalyellLinlithgowLabaye
Paul FlynnNewport WestLabaye
Mrs Alice MahonHalifaxLabaye
Robert Marshall-AndrewsMedwayLabaye
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabaye
Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive