[S2M-380] Decision Time — 25 Sep 2003 at 17:00

This looks like the vote on S2M-380

The description in the bulletin on 2003-09-24 is:

*S2M-380 Miss Annabel Goldie: Public Confidence in the Criminal Justice System—That the Parliament welcomes the recognition by the First Minister of the need to "regain trust and confidence" in our criminal justice system; believes that a step towards restoring such confidence would be to introduce honesty in sentencing by re-enacting sections 33 to 41 of the Crime and Punishment (Scotland) Act 1997, which were repealed by section 108 of the Crime and Disorder Act 1998; notes that public confidence has been further undermined by the lack of visible policing in too many communities, and calls on the Scottish Executive to consider how accountability to the public in the delivery of police services might be enhanced.

You can search for this motion (S2M-380) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The next question is, that motion S2M-380, in the name of Annabel Goldie, on public confidence in the criminal justice system, as amended by Hugh Henry's amendment, be agreed to. Are we all agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 31388.9%
Green0 70100.0%
Independent2 0066.7%
Lab45 0090.0%
LDem15 0088.2%
SNP0 0830.8%
SSCUP0 10100.0%
SSP0 2033.3%
Total:62 132175.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Alex FergussonGalloway and Upper NithsdaleConno
David MundellSouth of ScotlandConno
John ScottAyrConno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive