"Prisoners and Criminal Proceedings (Scotland) Act 1993 (c. 9) — 14 Oct 2003 at 25:17

moved Amendment No. 230ZZA:

Page 329, line 3, at end insert-

"111B (1) Section 62 (release on licence etc: conditions as to monitoring) is amended as follows.

(2) For subsection (3) there is substituted-

"(3) In relation to a prisoner released under section 236 of the Criminal Justice Act 2003 (power to release prisoners on licence before required to do so), the monitoring referred to in subsection (2)(a) does not include the monitoring of his compliance with conditions imposed under section 242 of that Act (curfew condition)."

(3) In subsection (5) after paragraph (e) there is inserted ", and

(f) a sentence of detention under section 217 or 219 of the Criminal Justice Act 2003"."

On Question, amendment agreed to.

Schedule 26, as amended, agreed to.

Clause 283 [Interpretation of Part 12]:

moved Amendment No. 230ZZB

Page 160, line 41, after "more)" insert "except in Chapter 7"

On Question, amendment agreed to.

Clause 283, as amended, agreed to.

moved Amendment No. 230ZA:

After Clause 283, insert the following new clause-


It shall be the duty of the chief officer of each probation area-

(a) to establish consultation arrangements with local magistrates' courts committees and local communities,

(b) to assist the probation service in the performance of its duties of reducing offending, and

(c) to supervise offenders in the community."

On Question, Whether the said amendment (No. 230ZA) shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 10; Not-Contents, 12.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

All Votes Cast - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party are marked in red. Also shows which lords were ministers at the time of this vote. You can also see every eligible lord including those who did not vote in this division.

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Baroness Anelay of St JohnsConaye
Earl Attlee Conaye
Baroness Blatch Conaye
Viscount Bridgeman Contellaye
Lord Cope of BerkeleyCon (front bench)tellaye
Lord Hodgson of Astley AbbottsConaye
Baroness Andrews Lab (minister)no
Lord Bassam of BrightonLab (minister)tellno
Lord Campbell-Savours Labno
Lord Davies of OldhamLab (minister)no
Baroness Farrington of RibbletonLab (minister)no
Baroness Gibson of Market RasenLabno
Lord Goldsmith Lab (minister)no
Baroness Gould of PotternewtonLab (minister)no
Lord Grocott Lab (minister)tellno
Lord Lea of CrondallLab (minister)no
Baroness Scotland of AsthalLab (minister)no
Lord Warner Lab (minister)no
Lord Shutt of GreetlandLDem (front bench)aye
Lord Thomas of GresfordLDem (front bench)aye
Lord Tordoff LDemaye
Baroness Walmsley LDem (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive