[S2M-541.2 (Amendment)] Decision Time — 5 Nov 2003 at 17:03

This looks like the vote on S2M-541.2

The description in the bulletin on 2003-11-05 is:

*S2M-541.2 Chris Ballance: Scotland's Transport-As an amendment to motion (S2M-541) in the name of Nicol Stephen, leave out from "recognises" to end and insert "notes with concern the Scottish Executive's proposals for improving transport in Scotland, as set out in A Partnership for a Better Scotland, in particular its failure to give sufficient support for healthy transport initiatives such as walking and cycling; further notes that the finance put aside so far overwhelmingly relates to encouraging road and air transport, the most polluting forms of transport, and, while welcoming any extension of concessionary fares, regrets the failure to promote an effective public transport system in Scotland."

You can search for this motion (S2M-541.2) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The third question is, that amendment S2M-541.2, in the name of Chris Ballance, which seeks to amend motion S2M-541, in the name of Nicol Stephen, on Scotland's transport, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)AbstentionsTurnout
Con15 0083.3%
Green0 70100.0%
Independent0 1166.7%
Lab44 4096.0%
LDem16 0094.1%
SNP23 0088.5%
SSCUP0 01100.0%
SSP0 60100.0%
Total:98 18292.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Trish GodmanWest RenfrewshireLabaye
Irene OldfatherCunninghame SouthLabaye
Cathy PeattieFalkirk EastLabaye
Karen WhitefieldAirdrie and ShottsLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive