Lords Amendment — Criminal Justice Bill — Juries and fraud trials [2] — 19 Nov 2003 at 16:30

33Leave out Clause 42

The Commons disagree to this amendment but propose the following amendments to the words so restored to the Bill-

33A Clause 42, page 28, line 34, after "where" insert "(a)"

33B Page 28, line 35, at end insert "and

(b) notice has been given under section 51B of the Crime and Disorder Act 1998 (notices in serious or complex fraud cases) in respect of that offence or those offences."

33C Page 28, line 39, leave out "both of the following conditions are" and insert "the following condition is"

33D Page 28, line 42, leave out "The first" and insert "That"

33E Page 29, line 3, leave out subsection (5)

33F Page 29, line 9, leave out "both of those conditions are" and insert "that condition is"

On Question, Whether the said amendment (No. 33G) shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 197; Not-Contents, 125.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Con116 (+1 tell) 255.6%
Crossbench18 1117.0%
Green1 0100.0%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Lab2 109 (+2 tell)59.2%
LDem54 (+1 tell) 085.9%
Other1 033.3%
UUP1 0100.0%
Total:194 12249.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Lawson of BlabyConno
Lord MacGregor of Pulham MarketCon (front bench)no
Lord Chorley Crossbenchno
Viscount Colville of CulrossCrossbench (front bench)no
Baroness Darcy de Knayth Crossbenchno
Lord Donaldson of LymingtonCrossbenchno
Baroness Finlay of LlandaffCrossbench (front bench)no
Baroness Howarth of BrecklandCrossbenchno
Lord Monson Crossbenchno
Lord Moser Crossbenchno
Lord Nickson Crossbenchno
Lord Roll of IpsdenCrossbenchno
Lord Weatherill Crossbench (front bench)no
Baroness Kennedy of The ShawsLabaye
Baroness Mallalieu Lab (minister)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive