Lords Amendment — Criminal Justice Bill — Juries and fraud trials — 20 Nov 2003 at 13:31

32 Clause 41, Leave out Clause 41 The Commons disagree to this amendment for the following reason-

32A Because it should be possible for a defendant to apply for a trial to be conducted without a jury. The Lords insist on their amendment to which the Commons have disagreed, for the following reason-

32B Because it is inappropriate to make provision for applications by the defendant for trials to be conducted without jury. The Commons insist on their disagreement to this amendment but propose the following amendment to the words so restored to the Bill-

32C Page 27, line 40, leave out "must" and insert "may"

rose to move, as an amendment to the Motion that the House do not insist on its Amendment No. 32, and do agree with the Commons in their Amendment No. 32C, leave out from "House" to end and insert "do insist on its Amendment No. 32, and do propose Amendments Nos. 32E to 32L as consequential amendments to the Bill"-

32EClause 41, page 29, line 40, leave out paragraph (a)

32FPage 30, line 19, leave out "41"

32GPage 30, line 40, leave out "41"

32HPage 31, line 25, leave out "41"

32IPage 32, line 9, leave out "41"

32JPage 33, line 6, leave out paragraph (a)

32KPage 33, line 33, leave out "41"

32LPage 33, line 41, leave out "41"

On Question, Whether the said amendment (No. 32D) shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 163; Not-Contents, 115.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Bishop2 08.0%
Con92 (+1 tell) 043.5%
Crossbench10 1917.0%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Lab2 93 (+2 tell)50.8%
LDem52 (+1 tell) 082.8%
Other1 033.3%
Total:160 11241.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Ackner Crossbenchaye
Lord Ampthill Crossbenchaye
Lord Chalfont Crossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Donaldson of LymingtonCrossbenchaye
Lord Lloyd of BerwickCrossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Molyneaux of KilleadCrossbenchaye
Lord Northbourne Crossbenchaye
Lord Rees-Mogg Crossbench (front bench)aye
The Earl of SandwichCrossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Wright of RichmondCrossbenchaye
Baroness Kennedy of The ShawsLabaye
Baroness Mallalieu Lab (minister)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive