Anti-terrorism, Crime and Security Act 2001 — Privy Counsel Report — 25 Feb 2004 at 18:43

The majority of MPs voted against recommendations by Privy Counsellor Review Committee[1] to urgently replace the Part 4 of the Act powers which allow for foreign nationals to be detained indefinitely.

They did this by voting against changing the motion for debate from:

  • This House
  • takes note of the Privy Counsellor Review Committee Report on the Anti-Terrorism, Crime and Security Act 2001 Review (HC 100),[1] which was laid before this House on 18th December 2003.


  • This House
  • welcomes the Privy Counsellor Review Committee Report on the Anti-terrorism, Crime and Security Act 2001;[1] and
  • calls upon the Government to act on the Committee's recommendation to repeal Part 4 of the Act and replace it with alternative provisions for monitoring and prosecuting suspected terrorists which do not require the suspension of basic human rights.

This review by seven members of the Privy Counsel was stipulated in the original Act.[3]

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con1 302.5%
DUP1 0016.7%
Independent0 1050.0%
Lab307 (+2 tell) 7077.5%
LDem0 49 (+2 tell)094.4%
PC0 40100.0%
SNP0 4080.0%
UUP4 0080.0%
Total:313 68059.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr John WilkinsonRuislip - NorthwoodConno
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabaye
Bill EtheringtonSunderland NorthLabaye
Kate HoeyVauxhallLabaye
Robert Marshall-AndrewsMedwayLabaye
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabaye
Mr Kevin McNamaraKingston upon Hull NorthLabaye
Mr Brian SedgemoreHackney South and ShoreditchLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive