Anti-terrorism, Crime and Security Act 2001 — Renewal of indefinite detention — 3 Mar 2004 at 19:50

The majority of MPs voted in favour of the continued power of sections 21 to 23 of the Anti-terrorism, Crime and Security Act 2001 (Part 4).[1][2]

The MPs who voted against the original law, voted in favour of renewing it. In particular, the vast majority of members of the Conservative Party who abstained on the original law chose to renew it.[3]

Without this motion, the powers of the Home Secretary to certify a foreign national as a suspected terrorist and detain him indefinitely would have expired under a sunset clause in the Act.[4]

The first renewal of this section had been debated and passed without a vote.[5]

This was the second time these powers were renewed by Parliament. The Home Secretary had presented his case for it in a Ministerial Statement.[6] The Joint Committee On Human Rights presented the detailed opposition to the provisions a month later,[7] but they were finally declared unconstitutional at the end of the year partly on the basis that there was no "public emergency threatening the life of the nation" which would be necessary to justify this detainment regime.[8]

A recent list of of statutory instruments relating to terrorism that are renewed by Parliament is here.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con105 0064.8%
DUP5 0083.3%
Lab254 1062.5%
LDem0 39072.2%
PC0 40100.0%
SDLP1 0033.3%
SNP0 50100.0%
UUP5 00100.0%
Total:370 49064.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr Kevin McNamaraKingston upon Hull NorthLabno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive