Higher Education Bill — Director of Fair Access to Higher Education — 23 Jun 2004 at 14:15

The majority of MPs rejected an amendment from the Lords altering the duties of the Office for Fair Access and arrangements for giving institutions approval to charge the higher level of university tuition fee.

Lords amendment 15 was rejected by the House of Commons. Alan Johnston MP explained what the government felt was wrong with the amendment[1].

According to Mr Johnston's speech the amendment would have:

  • deleted the power of the director of fair access to issue guidance to institutions.
  • delegated the regulation-making power on the approval of plans.
  • implied a duty on institutions to provide a strategic plan to the funding councils.
  • placed a duty on the director [of the Office of Fair Access] to require institutions to supply details of the financial assistance offered to students. (Mr Jonhston added: That is in addition to the strategic plan, which would mean duplicate reporting).

The motion passed read:

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con0 96 (+2 tell)060.1%
DUP0 4066.7%
Independent0 1050.0%
Lab306 (+2 tell) 0075.9%
LDem0 43079.6%
PC3 0075.0%
UUP0 50100.0%
Total:309 149072.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive