[S2M-1784] Decision Time — 30 Sep 2004 at 17:04

This looks like the vote on S2M-1784

The description in the bulletin on 2004-09-29 is:

*S2M-1784 Mr David Davidson: Centralisation of Health Services—That the Parliament is opposed to the centralisation of health services across Scotland; notes the threat facing many local hospital services including those at Caithness General Hospital, Western Isles Hospital, Lorne and Islands District General Hospital, Belford Hospital, Inverclyde Royal Hospital, the Vale of Leven Hospital, St John’s Hospital, Stobhill Hospital, the Victoria Infirmary, the Western Infirmary, Wishaw General Hospital, Hairmyres Hospital, Glasgow Homeopathic Hospital, Queen Mother’s Hospital, Ayr Hospital, Perth Royal Infirmary, Forth Park Hospital, Queen Margaret Hospital, Stirling Royal Infirmary, Falkirk Royal Infirmary, Monklands Hospital and Balfour Hospital and the additional threat to many community and long-term care hospitals right across Scotland; believes that this is part of a strategy of centralising services at a handful of elite hospitals which has led to uproar from coast to coast over hospital reorganisation plans, and therefore has no confidence in the ability of the Minister for Health and Community Care to devise and implement a strategy for the NHS which serves the needs of local communities throughout Scotland.

You can search for this motion (S2M-1784) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The next question is, that motion S2M-1784, in the name of David Davidson, on the centralising of health services, as amended, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 180100.0%
Green0 70100.0%
Independent1 12100.0%
Lab48 1098.0%
LDem17 00100.0%
SNP0 24096.0%
SSCUP0 10100.0%
SSP0 2383.3%
Total:66 54597.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Bristow MuldoonLivingstonLabno
Ms Rosemary ByrneSouth of Scotlandwhilst SSPno
Tommy SheridanGlasgowwhilst SSPno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive