Mental Capacity Bill — 11 Oct 2004 at 21:43

I beg to move, That the Bill be now read a Second time.

I am delighted to be able to introduce this important and long-awaited Bill. Voluntary organisations, individuals and their families, and many Members on both sides of the House, have campaigned for the Bill for many years-since 1989. The Bill will empower, protect and support people who lack mental capacity. We can and should no longer dismiss people by simply labelling them incapable. Professionals, families and friends who care for people who lack mental capacity need to understand more fully and more clearly their legal rights and responsibilities.

Question put, That the Bill be now read a Second time:-

The House divided: Ayes 326, Noes 62.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con10 52 (+2 tell)039.3%
DUP0 5083.3%
Independent Conservative0 10100.0%
Lab292 (+2 tell) 1172.7%
LDem21 1040.0%
PC2 0050.0%
UUP0 1020.0%
Total:325 61161.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr David AtkinsonBournemouth EastConaye
Peter AtkinsonHexhamCon (front bench)aye
John BercowBuckinghamConaye
Crispin BluntReigateCon (front bench)aye
Kenneth ClarkeRushcliffeCon (front bench)aye
Geoffrey Clifton-BrownCotswoldConaye
Stephen DorrellCharnwoodConaye
Edward GarnierHarboroughConaye
Robert KeySalisburyCon (front bench)aye
George YoungNorth West HampshireCon (front bench)aye
Frank FieldBirkenheadLab (minister)no
David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLab (minister)both
Phil WillisHarrogate and KnaresboroughLDem (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive