Support For Members Who Have Chosen Not To Take Their Seats — 10 Mar 2005 at 16:29

Amendment proposed: (b), in line 4, leave out from "effect" to end.-[Mr. Lidington.]

Question put, That the amendment be made:-
The House divided: Ayes 171, Noes 357.

The amendment is to remove the detail of which parts of the 18 December 2001 Resolution be suspended. The Resolution allowed Sinn Féin MPs to gain some of the parliamentary privileges (office space and expenses, mainly) enjoyed by other MPs, but without having to take their seats (which would involve taking an Oath of Allegiance to the Queen).

The motion itself, as proposed by the Leader of the House and the Northern Ireland Secretary, suspends only the expenses for Sinn Féin MPs. This amendment, supported mainly by Conservatives and Unionists, would have suspended all their privileges. That it fell means that the four Sinn Féin MPs get to keep their office space and so on, but lose around £40,000-worth of expenses.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con2 132 (+2 tell)084.5%
DUP0 6085.7%
Independent0 2066.7%
Lab334 (+2 tell) 5083.6%
LDem21 22078.2%
UUP0 4080.0%
Total:357 171083.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by name

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Norman BakerLewesLDemno
Peter BottomleyWorthing WestConno
Tom BrakeCarshalton and WallingtonLDemno
Julian BrazierCanterburyConno
Colin BreedSouth East CornwallLDemno
Malcolm BruceGordonLDemno
Mr David ChidgeyEastleighLDemno
Mr Brian CotterWeston-Super-MareLDemno
Frank FieldBirkenheadLabaye
Don FosterBathLDemno
Andrew GeorgeSt IvesLDemno
Mr Parmjit GillLeicester SouthLDemno
Mr Matthew GreenLudlowLDemno
David HamiltonMidlothianLabaye
Kate HoeyVauxhallLabaye
Mr Nigel JonesCheltenhamLDemno
Paul KeetchHerefordLDemno
Charles KennedyRoss, Skye and Inverness WestLDemno
Mr Iain LukeDundee EastLabaye
Mark OatenWinchesterLDemno
Lembit ÖpikMontgomeryshireLDemno
Mrs Anne PickingEast LothianLabaye
Alan ReidArgyll and ButeLDemno
Mr David RendelNewburyLDemno
Andrew StunellHazel GroveLDemno
Matthew TaylorTruro and St AustellLDemno
Sarah TeatherBrent EastLDemno
Dr Jenny TongeRichmond ParkLDemno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive