Identity Cards Bill — Second Reading — 28 Jun 2005 at 21:50

The Aye-voters agreed that the Identity Cards Bill should be "Read a Second Time".

This means it can now be sent to Standing Committee D, which is a small group of MPs who formally review the bill line by line before it is returned to the main chamber for the "Third Reading" debate. Once the "Third Reading" is passed with a vote, it is reviewed by the House of Lords before it formally becomes an Act in law.

The timetable for this process is specified by the next vote. The following vote after that is the "money resolution", which gives the formal authority to the government to spend the public money necessary to carry out the functions of the act.

Note to readers: This is virtually the same Bill that was introduced to Parliament on 20 December 2004 but which ultimately failed due to the timing of the General Election.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con0 178 (+2 tell)091.8%
DUP0 90100.0%
Independent0 1050.0%
Lab312 (+2 tell) 20194.6%
LDem0 610100.0%
PC0 30100.0%
Respect0 10100.0%
SDLP0 30100.0%
SNP0 60100.0%
UUP1 00100.0%
Total:313 282194.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mike WoodBatley and SpenLabno
Clare ShortBirmingham, Ladywoodwhilst Labno
Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLabno
Gwyneth DunwoodyCrewe and NantwichLabno
Diane AbbottHackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabno
Linda RiordanHalifaxLabno
Glenda JacksonHampstead and HighgateLabno
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabno
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabno
Robert WareingLiverpool, West Derbywhilst Labno
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabno
Robert Marshall-AndrewsMedwayLabno
Paul FlynnNewport WestLab (minister)no
Katy ClarkNorth Ayrshire and ArranLabno
David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLabboth
Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabno
Frank CookStockton NorthLabno
Mark FisherStoke-on-Trent CentralLabno
John SmithVale of GlamorganLabno
Kate HoeyVauxhallLab (minister)no
David WinnickWalsall NorthLab (minister)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive