Racial and Religious Hatred Bill — Clause 1 — Hatred against persons on racial or religious grounds — 11 Jul 2005 at 20:45

Amendment proposed: No. 1, in page 1, line 3, of the Racial and Religious Hatred Bill, as introduced to parliment, leave out from 'Act' to end of line 7.-[Mr. Carmichael.]

Mr Evan Harris states that amendment No. 1 is a paving amendment for new schedule 1. As the act refers to only one schedule, I presume that amendment No. 1 also paves the way for amendment No. 2, which removes the original schedule.

The text of the new schedule 1 can be found in the speech given by the Deputy Speaker at the start of the debate.

The original schedule can be found in the Racial and Religious Hatred Bill, as introduced to parliment.

The House divided: Ayes 233, Noes 291. The Noes prevented the replacement of the schedule from taking place.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con0 156 (+1 tell)080.1%
DUP0 4044.4%
Independent0 20100.0%
Lab290 (+2 tell) 14086.4%
LDem0 54 (+1 tell)090.2%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP1 0033.3%
Total:291 233084.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Colin ChallenMorley and RothwellLabaye
Katy ClarkNorth Ayrshire and ArranLabaye
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabaye
Ann CryerKeighleyLabaye
Frank FieldBirkenheadLab (minister)aye
Paul FlynnNewport WestLab (minister)aye
John GroganSelbyLabaye
Kate HoeyVauxhallLab (minister)aye
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLab (minister)aye
Robert Marshall-AndrewsMedwayLabaye
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabaye
Gordon PrenticePendleLabaye
Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabaye
David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive